What’s In The Box Wednesday

On Wednesdays, I get to pick up my veggie box from my CSA. It’s so easy to do. The drop off location I picked is a church around the corner from my office. I just pull up and the boxes are stacked in a little side corridor. It takes all over 2 mins and is soooo much easier than going to the grocery store – not to mention tastier. This week we got some good stuff: Arugula, Bell Pepper, Cucumbers, Grape Tomatoes, Green Beans, Micro Greens, New Potatoes, Peaches, Slicer Tomatoes and Squash.

The other day I was trying to figure out what to do with my cucumbers before they go soft and I settled on tzatziki – a dilly, cucumber yogurt dip. It’s tastey and soooo easy to make. Plus it makes some of those hard to eat foods (for me, raw tomatoes) go down easier.

Here’s a simple recipe I used:

E-Z Tzatziki

~ 8 oz of Greek Yogurt (I used half a 17.6Oz  container FAGE 0%)

1 Cucumber (I used two small csa cucumbers that were able equal to a store bought one)

1/4-1/2 Lemon (Depends on Taste)

Fresh Chives, Chopped (It was probably equal to about 2 TBS)

Fresh  Dill, Chopped (2 TBS, I like it extra dilly)

Salt & Pepper, To Taste

(1) Slice and remove seeds from cucumber. Then using a potato peeler or cheese grater, shave off strips of cucumber. I did half and half. For me, it was a lot easier to use the peeler but it resulted in much larger strips of cucumber. I’m okay with that though.  When done, lightly salt and leave in fridge for about an hour. After which, squeeze out excess water. The more you squeeze the better the final product. Set aside.

(2) Combine yogurt with juice from lemon. I used 1/2 a lemon because I really like the tang of the yogurt mixed with the citrus juice. Then add chives, dill and a dash of S&P. Give cucumber another squeeze then add yogurt mix. Stir.

The dip will taste awesome at this point, but don’t eat it all yet. The longer it sits, the better the flavor. This made about 4 servings (patties and dip) for me. Kind of sad it’s gone, but glad I still have the stuff to make another batch.

For the past two days, I’ve had this with assorted veggies and some turkey meatloaf style patties for dinner & lunch. For these, I used 1lb lean ground turkey, shredded medium zuchini [squeeze out excess moisture], an egg, 1/4 oatmeal & spices to taste. Grilled them on each side using my Staub Grill Pan then stuck them in the over to make sure done all the way through.

2 responses

Leave a comment