Beer ‘n Cupcakes

Well, I failed to make it 30 days on my attempt for a Whole30. Shocker! Oh well, I’ll continue eating my whole foods, because I like eating stuff that is real. Though, going to the grocery store is pretty depressing because there’s aisle upon aisle of fake but delicious crap. Like cookies or double chocolate malt balls [ I guess a few double chocolate malt balls won’t hurt :)]

What made me cave? Well, it was this:

Image

Abita Strawberry Harvest. It tastes like late-spring/early-summer nights on the patio, eating crawfish and drinking with friends…funded by book buy back money. I love it.

If you aren’t familiar, the Abita Brewing Company is a craft brewery located in Abita Springs, LA. It’s located about 70 miles east of where I went to school. They offer several different brews year round: Amber, Restoration Ale (Pale Ale), Andygator and Turbo Dog. In addition, there are also a couple seasonal brews: Mardi Gras Bock, Red Ale (I DO NOT like this one, ew), Chrismas Ale, Satsuma and everybody’s favorite: Strawberry Harvest. It’s made with real Louisiana strawberries, it’s sweet but not offensively so. When it hits the shelfs, word starts spreading like wild fires. Now that I’m back in Texas, it takes a little bit longer to reach us. But when it does, you have to stock up. I might buy it by the case. Don’t judge.

Image

Note: I was not paid for this endorsement, but if anybody at Abita is reading I will gladly accept your samples or donations.

So, I kind of went off on a tangent, I didn’t intend this post to be about beer, but rather strawberries. I don’t care for them except for the beer and these cupcakes.

Image

The recipe is based on one from the famous LA cupcake bakery: Sprinkles.  It’s super easy and really delicious. I made these using my fresh strawberries from the CSA.

Image

CUPCAKES

Ingredients:

1/3 Cup Fresh Strawberry Puree (About 2/3 Cup Whole Fresh Strawberries)

1 ½ Cups All-Purpose Flour

1 Tsp Baking Soda

¼ Tsp Salt

½ Cup Milk

1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

½ Cup Unsalted Butter (Room Temp)

1 Cup Sugar

1 Large Egg

2 Large Egg Whites

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 12 cup muffin tin with liners; set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt. In a small bowl, mix together milk, vanilla, and strawberry puree.
  3. In the bowl of an electric mixer with the paddle attachment, cream butter on medium-high speed until light and fluffy. Gradually add sugar until well combined. Reduce speed and slowly add egg and egg whites until just blended.
  4. With mixer on low, slowly add half of flour mixture. Mix until just blended.  Add milk mixture. Then add remaining flour and until blended.
  5. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups. Bake until the tops are just dry to the touch, 22 to 25 minutes. Let cool completely before icing.

Note, the original recipe calls for baking powder. However, I had better results using baking soda. Also, these cupcakes will not be pink. If you just have to have a pink strawberry cupcake, add some red food coloring but it really isn’t necessary.  If you are looking for an intense strawberry flavor, I’d recommend cooking the puree to almost like a syrup so you get more flavor but not more liquid.

STRAWBERRY FROSTING

1 ¾ Cup Powdered Sugar

½ Cup Unsalted Butter, Firm

¼ Tsp Vanilla Extract

3 Tablespoons Strawberry Puree

Pinch of Salt

  1. In the bowl of an electric mixer with paddle attachment, beat together butter and salt until light and fluffy. Reduce mixer speed and slowly add powdered sugar, beat until well combined. Add vanilla and strawberry puree, mix until just blended. Do not over beat, it should be dense and creamy.

Note, I halved the originally recipe and felt it was plenty for 12 cupcakes. Unless you LOVE frosting, then you should. This will give you a lovely pink frosting – without any dye. However, don’t be tempted to dumb extra puree in. Again, I recommend you cook it down to syrup or you’ll end up with a very disturbing texture to your frosting. Like it’s melting off the cupcake, not that I did that or anything.

Image

4 responses

  1. I love the ABITA Strawberry beer!! I loaded up too! A lot sweeter this year than last year! These two go perfect together!! Beer n cupcakes! yay!

Leave a Reply

